Playing Golf in Australia

Golf first started to grow in popularity with the first golf club in 1931, and there are now both men’s and women’s golf tournaments that take place each year. The governing body in Australian golf is known as Golf Australia and took that name in 2006 after the Australian Golf Union formed a merger with Women’s Golf Australia. There are also associations for golf located in each of the states.

The main tour for men’s golf in Australia is the PGA Tour of Australasia. This started life back in 1973 but took its current name in 1991. It is considered to be a first-tier tour as it is one of the five main tours in the International Federation of PGA Tours. There is a total of 12 events each year on the tour, but just three of these are what is known as ‘sole-sanctioned’ by the tour.

Major Australian Golf Tournaments

The leading golf tournament is the Australian Open, run by the governing body and it has been in place since the start of the 20th century. There have also been a number of other major tournaments in the country, including the Australian Masters, which ran between 1979 and 2015, and the Australian PGA Championship.

In women’s golf, the leading tour is the ALPG Tour, which has been in existence since 1972 and the major tournaments include the Ladies Masters and the Women’s Australian Open. Both of these events are run in conjunction with the Ladies European Tour.

It isn’t just Australian events that are held in the country. It has played host to a number of leading golfing events including the World Cup of Golf in 2016 and the Lexus Cup in 2007. In most cases, the leading players on both the men’s and women’s tours will generally move to the US or European tours as these tend to be more lucrative.