Australia’s Golfing Tournaments

There is a whole range of golf tournaments for Australian golfers from amateur to professional, from individual events to the team events such as the Presidents Cup. Some of the tournaments are co-sanctioned with other tours such as the European Tour. Here are the details of just a few of the tournaments, past and present.

Australian PGA Championship

This is a tournament that started life back in 1905 and which now has its home in south-east Queensland. It is run in conjunction with the European Tour, and the winner will be handed the Joe Kirkwood Cup. The format of the tournament is now 72-hole stroke-play, but prior to 1964, it was a match-play event. For one year only in the 1970s, it reverted to match-play.

The Australian Masters

The Australian Masters is a tournament that took place annually between 1979 and 2015. It was held in Victoria and was frequently won by an Australian golfer. For a time it was co-sanctioned with the European Tour and was not without controversy, particularly when Tiger Woods was scheduled to appear in 2009, with AS$1.5million of his fee covered by the taxpayer. The event was last played in 2015, and it is unclear if the event will be revived.

Victorian Open

This event started life in 1957 and is overseen by Golf Victoria, and it is a ranking event. It features equal prizes for men and women. The Victorian Open is actually for male players, but the Women’s Victorian Open is played at the same time, and men and women are on the course at the same time, playing in alternating groups. It graduated to being a Tier 1 event in 2017. It is currently an event that is run in conjunction with the European Tour and players from all over the world take place each year.